Published in the Iola Register on Apr. 16, 2013.

County board approves invoices for building commission

Cloud County board of commissioners Monday approved the following invoices on behalf of the Public Building Commission: Zahner Hansen Construction Group, $356,344.20; Goldberg Group Architects, P.C., $4,732.54; City of Concordia, $45,332.10; and City of Concordia, $13,012.41.
In other business, County Attorney Robert Walsh, Sheriff Brian Marks, Concordia Police Chief Bruce Johnson and Concordia city manager Larry Uri discussed a draft agreement for the renewal of dispatch services and the cost of operating the dispatch. No action was taken.
Walsh discussed insurance coverage for JJA/Community Corrections. Commissioners asked Walsh to continue discussion with KCAMP, the county's insurance carrier, concerning the insurance coverage for JJA/Community Corrections.
The board approved a right of way use permit with Concordia Tractor, Inc. for the placement of signs on county right-of-way, at 1441 Union Road presented by highway administrator Andy Asch.
Amanda Wahlmeier and Wonda Phillips, representing the National Orphan Train Complex, presented information about the number of visitors at the Complex during the recent Smithsonian exhibit, The Way We Worked, and presented information about the Complex.
In other matters the board
•approved allowing the chairman to sign th 2014 Comprehensive Plan for JJA/Community Corrections presented by JJA /Community Corrections Director Ellen Anderson.
•approved department payrolls totaling $130,320.97.
Meetings attended during the past week by commissioners included: Johnita Crawford, OCCK Legislative meeting April 8; Tourism meeting, April 9; and the JJA/DOC Advisory board meeting April 10; Gary Caspers, a special Resources Council Committee meeting April 10; Gail Engle, Chemical Dependency meeting, April 12. All board members attended the owners meeting April 9.
CHS Government students attending Monday's meeting were Madison Brockman, Erin Hansen, Derek Pearson, Blane Payeur, Alan Garcia, Zach Hibbs, Jorge Duenas, Kyle Bogart, Kaylee Mosher, Alyssa Champlin, Lindsey Widen, Emily Brown, Allissa Kearn, Brentin Hake, Jordan Pounds, Shelby Fraser, Koral Plush.
Adjournment was at 12:23.