Published in the Iola Register on Apr. 1, 2013.

Three people vying for two commission seats

Three people are vying for two open seats on the Concordia City Commission during Tuesday's city/school election.
Incumbent Marsha Wentz is joined in the race by Christy Hasch and Retta Waite.
Wentz has served three years on the Commission, and said if elected she would like to continue working on current projects.
"The main thing is to finish the 21st Street dam project," Wentz said. "We're so close to getting it done, I don't want to see it sidetracked. By finishing the dam, I think we have a  better chance of getting the walking trail and enhancing the area to make it easier to sell the commercial lots."
Wentz said she would also like to see work continue to bring businesses to the north development, as well as improvements to the city's parks. New equipment, upgrades to the swimming pool and walking trails are some of her long-term goals, she said.
Another project Wentz would like to see is more downtown beautification.
"I think we need to do more landscaping, because a town looks progressive by having an enhanced downtown," she said. "We need to do something to make people turn that corner and come downtown."
Hasch, a school psychologist for the Learning Cooperative of North Central Kansas, is also running for a spot on the Commission.
"I've always been interested in the democratic process," Hasch said of why she decided to run. "My husband and I have chosen to live in Concordia and this community has been a great place to work and raise our children. This is a good time for me to be more involved, with both of my girls gone for education."
Hasch said she has no specific agenda for running for the Commission. If elected, she said she believes promoting Concordia is important, as is moving forward with needed improvements to the city's infrastructure.
"Attracting new business and development to town must be a priority, too," she added. "I believe that as a community, we need to foster opportunities for employment so that our young people will want to return to Concordia to live and raise their own families."
Waite, a retired Concordia Police Department employee, said she feels she has the time to give back to the community.
Having attended Commission meetings in the past, Waite said she has listened to some of the concerns of the citizens.
"I feel they need a voice in there to represent them, and I would like to be that voice," she said.
With cuts in state and federal spending, she said everyone needs to "tighten their belts," and that the city needs to prioritize its spending to make sure all needs are met.
Waite also said she has seen other area communities who have been able to attract jobs, and would like to see the same for Concordia.
"We have a great little town here," she said.
There are three open spots on the Cloud County Community College Board of Trustees. The seats are currently held by Greg Askren, Dave Clemons and Roger Koester. Askren, the current chair of the Board, refiled for his position, as did Clemons. Koester did not file for re-election. Linda Richard, Miltonvale, will join the two in their bid for re-election.
Three seats are up for election on the USD 333 Concordia Board of Education. Board Chairman Rick Limon has refiled for his District one, Position four seat on the Board. Mary Beth Smith has also filed for her District three, Position six seat, and Chuck Knapp has refiled for his District two, Position five seat. No opposition filed for a seat on the Board of Education.
In Jamestown, Randy Smith refiled for his position as mayor, and two people, Arlene Ediger and John Herbin‚ are running for two open council seats.
Voters in Aurora will elect two council members, and choose between Kathy Kindel, Thomas L'Ecuyer and Dani Nelson.

Voting places for the City/School General Election, April 2, 2013 are as follows:
First Christian Church, Fellowship Hall–402 W. 6th St., Concordia
Concordia‚ USD 333 Voters of Arion, Center and Lyon Townships, USD 333 voters of North Lawrence Precinct, All USD 333 voters of South Lawrence Precinct and East and West Lincoln Precincts,
All of Buffalo and Sibley Townships, USD 426 voters of Sibley Township, USD 109 voters of North Lawrence Precinct,
First Ward, Concordia City, First Precinct, Second Ward, Concordia City, Second Precinct, Second Ward, Concordia City, Third Ward, Concordia City, Fourth Ward, Concordia City;
Knights of Columbus Hall–Main Street–Aurora
Aurora City, USD 333 voters of Aurora Township and Nelson Township
Clyde City Hall–412 Washington–Clyde
Clyde City‚ All of Elk & Shirley Townships, USD 224 Voters of Colfax and Nelson Townships & North Lawrence Precinct , USD 224 Voters of South Lawrence Precinct
St. Mary's Catholic Parish Hall–301 1st St.–Glasco
 Glasco City, All of Solomon Township, USD 334 Voters of Arion, Center, Lyon, Summit Townships, and West Meredith Precinct, USD 273 Voters of Summit Township, USD 239 Voters of West Meredith Precinct and Lyon Township
Jamestown Downtown Activity Building–311C Walnut–Jamestown
Jamestown City, All of Grant Township, USD 333 Voters of Summit Township, USD 426 Voters of Grant Township
Miltonvale Community Building–107 Starr Street– Miltonvale
Miltonvale City, All of Starr and Oakland Townships and All of East Meredith Precinct
USD 334 Voters of Aurora and Colfax Townships, USD 239 Voters of East Meredith Precinct, USD 379 Voters of Colfax and Starr Townships
County Clerk's Office–Courthouse–811 Washington, Concordia
Advance Voting, All Precincts
The hours of voting in all precincts will be from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. All voting will be by ballot.
Witness my hand and seal this 5th day of March, 2013.
Linda Bogart
Cloud County Clerk/Election Officer