Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

County officials sworn into office

Ron Copple was sworn in to the 3rd District seat on the Cloud County board of commissioners Monday morning.
Running unopposed, Copple was elected to the commission in the November general election.
Copple won a four-person Republican primary race in August that included Lance Lagasse, Gail Engle and Michael Haley. He picked up 252 votes.
The 3rd District includes Grant, Summit, Solomon, Lyon, Center, East and West Meredith and East Lincoln townships and the 3rd Ward of Concordia.
Ken Davis was sworn in as the new Cloud County Sheriff.
Davis, who had previously worked as a corporal with the Concordia Police Department, takes over for Brian Marks, who did not seek re-election.
After defeating Jon Strowig in the Republican primary election in August, Davis was unopposed in the general election.
Gary Caspers was sworn in for a four term on the county commission, representing the 2nd District. He was unopposed in the election.
Other county officials who were sworn in Monday, after being re-elected to office, include County Clerk Shella Thoman, County Attorney Robert Walsh and Register of Deeds Jana Roush.


Concordia Blade-Empire

510 Washington St.
Concordia, KS 66901